Student Profiles: Emily Putman

Last week we introduced you to new alumna Jessie Menchak. This week we are pleased to present a current student in the Deaf Education program, Emily Putman!

Emily3  What year are you?

Sophomore 

What made you choose deaf education?
I’ve always wanted to teach, and I fell in love with Sign Language and the Deaf culture in high school. I shadowed a Deaf Ed. program in my town and knew that was what I wanted to do.
Why did you choose to study at TU?
I researched programs that were CED certified, and my two favorites were at Flagler College and University of Tulsa. Tulsa was closer to home, and I loved the campus.
What has been your favorite part of the program so far?
I really love the flexibility of this program and the people here. I have been able to pick and choose most of my classes to best suit what I am passionate about and my interests. I’ve had the opportunity to explore many of the paths in Deaf Ed. that I find interesting and have early first hand interaction with experts in the field
What are you most looking forward to in your final years in the program?
I am excited about learning more about language development in deaf students and having more interaction in Deaf Ed. classrooms.
What are your goals for after graduation?
I would love to teach deaf students at a residential school. Currently, I’m not sure where or what grade.
What would you tell high school students who are interested in studying deaf education?
Do it!
Emily2
Leave a Reply

