Alumni Profile: Jessie Menchak

Greetings!

We are less than a week away from the start of the spring semester. Looking forward to seeing all our great students back on campus – Except for Jessie Menchak, a Deaf Education major who just graduated in December! We asked her some questions about Deaf Education and her experiences at TU:

Jessie 1What made you choose deaf education?

I always knew I wanted to be a teacher.  A friend of mine introduced me to ASL in high school. I chose deaf education because I realized that I loved ASL and I wanted to combine my desire to teach with ASL – hence deaf education 🙂

What was your favorite part of the program and why?

My favorite part of the program was when I had the opportunity to student teach at the Kansas School for the Deaf. I enjoyed this experience because I greatly improved my signing skills, met some incredible teachers with strong teaching methods and received practical experience in the field of deaf education.

What advice would you give to future Deaf Education majors at TU?

For those of you pursuing a degree in deaf ed, my advice is to study hard, make as many connections in the Deaf community that you can while in school and always keep your eyes open for opportunities to be a part of not only your school and church community, but also the Deaf community.

What was it like interning at Kansas School for the Deaf?

Awesome! Interning was the most difficult semester of my college career, yet the experience made me grow more in my ASL skills, in my ability to face and conquer challenges, and in my attitude toward teaching than anything other experience I had while at TU.

What do you plan to do next?

The next phase of my life consists of obtaining a masters degree in Educational Psychology, achieving a license in interpreting and substitute teaching as my occupation while I am furthering my education.

How do you think your Deaf Education degree will help you achieve these goals?

My deaf ed degree will help me achieve these goals by supplying foundational information about deaf education, deaf history, Deaf culture, and many other aspects of the Deaf World that I will build upon in my future endeavors.

 

One thought on “Alumni Profile: Jessie Menchak”

Leave a Reply

